WANTED: Cool book podcasts…

6 Feb

Doing the washing up the other day (yawnnnn) I decided I fancied a bit of intellectual stimulation to accompany my cleaning, so I got on Google and tried to find a decent book podcast. I’m not really fussy in terms of content, an author interview, reviews, random lists.. I’m easily pleased. But what I don’t like is the fact that most book podcasts seem to be laced with tranquillisers. I love Mariella Frostrup, ain’t no one know a book like that lady, but can’t help but be put off by her BBC-tuned pronunciations and her voice, as soft and velvety as a Werthers Original munching grandma’s. Sorry Mariella.

I know there are cool book people out there (you subscribe to my blog, right?!), so I’m asking – what podcasts do you rate? Any recommendations?

My personal fave, one that stands out head and shoulders above the rest, is the Bookslam podcast. Bookslam is London’s coolest literary night, a big soiree of books, poets, actors and live music, put together with plenty of gin and not a whiff of pretentiousness about it. I am also kind of obsessed with it ever since I went to a session last year and met David Nicholls… aherm…

Ahhh yes.

Coming back to the real world, Bookslam is ace, and the podcast equally so. Go and listen to it now.

NO wait – first, tell me your fave book podcast.. please.. I have so much washing up to do it’s UNREAL.

7 Responses to “WANTED: Cool book podcasts…”

  1. savidgereads February 19, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Bit of self promotion gere, so apologies, but have you looked up The Readers which I host with Gavin of GavReads? Give it a whirl and let us know what you think. I would also recommend Books on the Nightstand as my personal fav. Though I do love Mariella, oh and BBC’s ‘A Good Read’

    • savidgereads February 19, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Gere? Here!

    • proseandconsbookclub February 19, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      Hi Simon, ooh I will definitely be checking your podcast out.. Thanks for the heads up there, there’s definitely a podcast-shaped-hole in my life!

  2. lnisbet February 29, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    oh my goodness you met david nicholls. i am experiencing some serious vicarious thrill right now so please bear with me – i love him. and one day. i’m sorry but the movie just did not do it justice (did you see it? what did you think?). a part of me wants to move to london just so i can start having encounters like this. insert extreme jealousy here.

    • proseandconsbookclub February 29, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

      Hi Lauren, I KNOW, it was crazy. I got all shy and said nothing of interest apart from ‘I loved One Day’ murmur murmur, ‘it was.. amazing’. WOW. If the man had a pound for everytime someone said that to him..! Sadly not every day is spent meeting suave, talented authors. Most of the time I’m hanging round with very dubious people 😉 Just discovered your blog, it’s great – will be following! x

  3. kateinbrussels May 3, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Ahem: can I mention my books podcast? Why I Really Like This Book, on http://www.reallylikethisbook.com (iTunes too). Ten-minute weekly podcasts on books I really, really like. I teach English lit to non-native university students, so I aim the pods at them, at my mother, at people with boring tasks to do, and hope to get them reading books they’ve never heard of before, or books they might be scared of.

    • proseandconsbookclub May 3, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      Hi Kate, sounds great! Thanks for flagging it up, I’ll definitely give your podcast a listen v soon.

Leave a comment