The Orange Prize longlist: my top 5 contenders

7 Mar

The book world is psyched right now as the literary award season is finally rolling into town. First up on the glittering list of accolades is the Orange Prize, the UK’s prestigious award for fiction written by female authors. With the longlist released tomorrow I thought I’d give you my two-penny worth, so here are my top 5 reads that I believe to be well deserving of a place on the longlist:

 

The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern, review, book review, author, Orange Prize

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Fin-de-siecle wizardry, inventive storytelling and one of the best love scenes you’ll ever read. Full (and extremely excitable) review here.

 

 

 

The Land of Decoration by Grace McCleen

McCleen spins her experience of childhood in a fundamental religion to create a quirky and surprisingly dark tale of ten-year-old Judith and her newfound miracle-making powers. My review for Stylist magazine is coming soon…


 

 

The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan (out end of March)

I’m reading this right now and I am hooked. 22-year-old Grace is on trial for her life. We know she survived a shipwreck and 3 weeks at sea… but we don’t know how

 

 

 

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Literary fiction at its absolute best. Ivey takes inspiration from a Russian fairytale to tell the story of Jack and Mabel, a childless couple in 1920s Alaska who make a little girl out of snow. Full review here.

 

 

 

22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson

Hodgkinson’s post-war page-turner follows a Polish couple and their young son as they adjust to a new life in England. 8-year-old Aurek steals the show in this heartbreaking tale of wartime secrets and survival. Review here.

 

 

What would be your top 5? Let me know!

8 Responses to “The Orange Prize longlist: my top 5 contenders”

  1. savidgereads March 7, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    Oooh there is only one of yours that I haven’t popped in my rogue guessing of all twenty and that is 22 Britania Road, though if it is in I might read it. I saw it at the library earlier in the week and thought of you. There has ‘apparently’ been a naughty leak and ‘The Night Circus’ is in, so thats one that we have both got right.

    • proseandconsbookclub March 8, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      Ooh!! Haven’t been this excited about a naughty leak since i first saw the Tena lady advert! Ha sorry, it’s late and my humour is fried. Ace about the night circus, it’s a combination of everything I love. Olde school dusty glamour, magic, star crossed lovers…All the reveurs will be so pleased it’s made the longlist!x

      • savidgereads March 8, 2012 at 12:10 am #

        I have just cried with laughter at this… can we please work on something together seriously and online book club or something… something… email me. Oh, I have gone all demanding.

      • proseandconsbookclub March 12, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

        I don’t mind demanding if it’s also flattering! Will be in touch when I get time to breathe! x

  2. Claire 'Word by Word' March 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    ‘The Lifeboat’ sounds interesting, thanks for the recommendation.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Orange Prize Longlist 2012? | Savidge Reads - March 7, 2012

    […] of Farmlanebooks, Nomadreader, Open Letters and Her Royal Orangeness have had a crack too, plus Jessica (who has become one of my new favourite bloggers, she makes me howl) has done her top five. I will […]

  2. Interview: Amanda Hodgkinson reveals the inspiration behind top debut 22 Britannia Road « - April 30, 2012

    […] Bloggers Night, an author whose debut novel I LOVED and have shouted about numerous times (try here and here for starters), I’m aware of just how lucky I am to actually meet the person who spent […]

Leave a Reply

