A few of my favourite things: book gift ideas for Christmas

2 Dec

Christmas Book Gifts

December is upon us, which means a heightened risk of death-by-elbow in every shopping centre in the world. I have officially started Christmas shopping and without sounding too Scroogey about it, it is stressssssful (bah humbug). But thankfully, online shopping for books is ridiculously easy (um as is going to your local bookstore and supporting independent trade, aherm). Anyway, here a few of the booky presents I’m dishing out this year.

For my book club… The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

We’re doing a Secret Santa style pressie sesh this year, with each of us bringing along a book we’ve enjoyed over the last year. I thought this would make a great present for one of my fellow book clubbers – we loved the glamour of 1930s Rules of Civility and this taps into a similar vein.  A fictional recollection of Ernest Hemingway’s marriage to first wife Hadley, it’s set in the absinthe-fuelled realms of Jazz Age Paris – a time where you couldn’t step out of your studio apartment without bumping into the Fitzgeralds or being dragged off for a gin with Ezra Pound. Don’t be fooled by the slightly naff cover – it’s brilliantly bohemian and totally heartbreaking.

For my Nan… The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

My mum recently lent my nan her copy of 50 Shades. Needless to say, this has disturbed me on so many levels that I’ve been desperate to give my nan other books – ANY books – that will distract her from veering into questionable erotic fiction. Step forward then The Snow Child. Set in the Alaskan wilderness and following a couple who discover a mysterious young girl in the forest, it ticks every box for essential winter reading – snowy scenes, a touch of magic, and a vivid world you can really lose yourself in. And not a hint of a whip in sight.

For my soon to be Sister-in-Law… Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann

Vogue absolutely loved this one and it’s easy to see why. Told through 5 very different narrators and spanning from post WW2 to the late 60s, it’s a dark, sparkling tale of a glamorous East Coast family plagued by secrets. Think glamour, betrayal, murder…and a hell of a lot of gin and tonics along the way. Deliciously sun drenched bitterness that will have you captivated from the very first page – making it the coolest must-read of the year and a perfect present for my beeyootiful soon to be sis-in-law.

Are you giving any book gifts this year? Would love to hear your recommendations…

7 Responses to “A few of my favourite things: book gift ideas for Christmas”

  1. belljargirl December 3, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    I can’t believe your nan gave you 50 shades!! That’s so funny. Although if it had been me I would be shivering and cringing about it 😛

    • proseandconsbookclub February 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

      haha my mum gave my nan 50 shades.. almost worse, isn’t it! just discovered your blog, great thought provoking stuff.

      • belljargirl March 18, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

        Haha! Full family circulation of 50 shades – love it. Aww thank you. I’m glad it’s thought provoking 😀

  2. Alice December 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    The Paris Wife! An excellent present.

    I’m not giving many books this year – mainly because I am a lonely reader amongst many of my friends. I will be giving one to my secret santa this year, but what I give will depend on whomever I pick.

    I would love someone to pick out a classic and give it to me as a present, especially one they have loved. I think that passion really inspires me to read and to discover why it is so loved.

  3. Marie December 4, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    I love giving books as gifts! Good choices. My Dad has asked for the third book in Ben Aaronovitch’s Rivers Of London series, so I will certainly be picking up a copy of that, but I think I’m also going to give him a copy of Broken Harbour by Tana French as he is a big fan of crime fiction. My brother will be receiving a copy of Bad Pharma by Ben Goldacre. Let’s just hope they don’t read this blog or Christmas will be ruined!! 🙂

  4. savidgereads December 29, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    I bought my possibly future mother in law 50 Shades… as she asked me if I would get it for her as she new too many people at the local supermarket, ha! She loathed it and compared it to being ‘as riveting as a trek through a DIY, though at least you could buy things from the book there’ hee hee.

    I think I am going to have to give Tigers in Red Weather a whirl. I have heard lots of bubbles of enthusiasm for it since it came out. It was meant to be much bigger than it was I think. I am still kicking myself I didn’t buy it ages ago in Tesco for £4!

    • proseandconsbookclub February 23, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Simon I’m so sorry i’ve been completely AWOL on blogging and keeping up on comments, argggh. Did you ever read Tigers? V slick xx

Leave a Reply

